Who’s Negotiating Border Security to Avoid Shutdown 2.0?

Tue Jan 29, 2019 AT 10:00 AM EST

All 17 members of the group appointed to work out a compromise on border-security funding are on the Appropriations Committee in either the House or the Senate. The group will be led by House Appropriations Committee Chairman Nita Lowey, D., N.Y., and its ranks include the panel’s top Republican, Kay Granger of Texas.

Senate Appropriations Committee Chairman Richard Shelby, R., Ala., and its top Democrat, Patrick Leahy of Vermont, are also members, as are the lawmakers who run the appropriations subcommittee on Homeland Security in each chamber: Sen. Shelley Moore Capito, R., W.Va., and Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard, D., Calif.

Several lawmakers who have been deeply enmeshed in previous immigration negotiations were also appointed, including Sen. Dick Durbin, D., Ill., and Rep. Pete Aguilar, D., Calif. Sen. John Hoeven, R., N.D., was involved in brokering a key border-security provision in a sweeping overhaul of the immigration system that passed the Senate in 2013, but fizzled in the House. Read Full Story

E-Mail Alerts

Signup now and recieve free E-mail Alerts
from Reagan Reports for America.
Email :
Zip Code:
Your e-mail address and personal information is
confidential as stated in our Privacy Policy.

Past Archives

Reagan Reports for America © Michael Reagan. All Rights Reserved.